Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

New to cat sailing - don't understand rudder  Bottom

• Greetings all,

I just bought a used nacra 5.0. It didn't have a tiller extension. The PO said he never wanted or used one. So I took it out for the first time this weekend in the bay with 10 knot winds. Remember I'm totally new to this and don't really know what I'm doing... The constant problem I had was that the rudder was very hard to handle. It pulled against me (of course as the boat was trying to point into the wind). My question is.. Is this normal or am I not sailing the boat correctly? Also, will an extension help this?

Thanks in advance for any advice!
  • You'll need that extension. Weather helm is a result of the rudders not being down all the way. Also too much pressure on the main and not enough on the jib. Mast rake is a issue. There's lots of nacra owners on this site.
    Search: "weather helm". good luck GH

--
    '82 Super Cat 15
    Hull #315
    Virginia
    Previously owned: '70 H14, '79 H16, '68 Sailmaster 26, '85 H14T
    --
  • I would get a hiking stick that extends. This will allow you to move your weight around on the boat.

There is a great article on the site about windward and leeward helm.

Also, do a google search for Nacra 5.0 tuning. There is most likely a guide online that will provide suggestions on setup.

If you have too much tiller tug you can pitch the rudders under the hulls a bit more to reduce the force. You will lay a straight edge at the transom and then measure the distance to the forward most part of the blade. I don't know what the distance should be on the 5.0, but my 5.2 had a suggested of 35mm.

--
    Craig
    Windrider Rave Hydrofoil
    Nacra 5.2 Restored and heavily modified
    Nacra 5.2 (one under restoration)
    Nacra 5.7
    Nacra 5.8NA
    SoCal
    --
  • Your rudders are not down, the hiking stick is needed but that is not your problem.

--
    Nacra 5.2
    --