Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Searching for a sporty beachcat  Bottom

• So ive been wanting to buy a catamaran for a long time and now that ive got time i dont really know what is the best for me. I myself sail monohulls and compete in my country's Liga. But i am really exited to learn about catamarans and to sail them! Since I don't really know too much about cats I thought id ask you all. I'm looking for a cat which has no daggerboards, preferably not a raised tramp, but is a lot of fun and goes fast(is sporty)/can handle big winds. I would be sailing it solo quite often maybe sometimes 1 or 2 people would join me. I also love me a double trapez :) But above that all it should be really cheap so up to 2000 is my budget. Also im 16 years old if that makes a difference.

Does anybody have a catamaran in mind or any recommendations?
    Big thanks already!!!

(Also sorry if my English isn't perfect im still learning it haha)
  • David - when you want something fun, for not much $, the question is - where are you, and what second-hand catamarans are being sold in your region?

What kind of monohulls do you sail? And what's your role? Crew? Helm...?
  • martin_langhoffDavid - when you want something fun, for not much $, the question is - where are you, and what second-hand catamarans are being sold in your region?

What kind of monohulls do you sail? And what's your role? Crew? Helm...?

I im in austria. There are mainly hobie 16s being sold but also a hobie 18, Hurricane 59 sx, nacra 570, hobie 14s, and a tornado.
    I sail J70 and i am the Helm. I also sail a rs feva xl with a friend of mine.
  • David,

Are you sailing at Attersee? We tried to get out there when we visited Salzburg a few years back.

That Hurricane 5.9 looks a lot like a Prindle 19... That and the NACRA would be on the top of my list.

--
    John Schwartz
    Ventura, CA
    --